The Simpson Prize

The Simpson Prize is a national competition for Year 9 and 10 students. The competition encourages participants to focus on the significance of Anzac Day and to consider what Anzac Day means to them and to Australia.

One winner and one runner-up from each State and Territory entering in 2023 will participate in a three-day program in Canberra in early 2024. Winning students will also travel to key historical and commemorative site/s across Australia noting that the final itinerary is subject to confirmation.*

* Subject to COVID19 restrictions


‘Australia's relationship with Great Britain explains why Australia and individual Australians went to war’

Discuss the accuracy of this statement with reference to EITHER World War One OR World War Two.

A link to the 2025 Simpson Prize Question and Sources is: click here

Closing Date: Friday 8 November 2024 (at 5pm)

NOTE: The Simpson Prize is named for the year that winning students will 'travel'.
That is, students will enter in 2024 for "2025 Simpson Prize".

For more information visit the Simpson Prize website:


The Simpson Prize requires you to respond to the quote and question above using both the Simpson Prize Australian War Memorial Source Selection and your own research.

  • You are encouraged to discuss and respond to the question from a variety of perspectives – individual, national and global – using a variety of sources
  • You are expected to make effective use of a minimum of 4 provided sources (see link above)
  • Up to half of your response should also make use of information drawn from your own knowledge and research
  • Each school is permitted to submit up to 3 Student Entries for judging
  • Entry submission must arrive by 5.00pm on the closing date of 8 November 2024
  • Students who submit winning entries for this year's Simpson Prize will travel in 2025
  • Entries are to be sumbitted on the official Simpson Prize website.

Further Information

Further queries should be directed to:

The Simpson Prize Secretariat - Deb Sulway
Ph: 02 6162 4460 

Registration & Conditions of Entry

  • Teachers should select up to 3 entries per school to submit (NB unlimited entry is permitted at the school level)
  • Entry Cover Form needs to be completed for each entry and attached to the entry prior to submission (coversheets can be downloaded here)
  • Do not write your name, school or teacher on any page or any copy of your entry
  • Teachers should save student files with the following naming convention: 
    NSW_[STUDENT SURNAME]_[Student FirstName]_SPstudent2025
  • If you wish to receive Certificates of Participation, please download form from the official Simpson Prize website
  • Return your form to Simpson Prize Secretariat (details avail. from their website). More details visit:
  • A teacher from each state will also be required to accompany the winning students as a chaperone

2023 Simpson Prize Winners

That is, students who entered the Simpson Prize Competition in 2022.
Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Simpson Prize!

NSW Winner

Murphy Xi

The King's School

NSW Runner Up

Toby Scott

St Aloysius College

2019 Simpson Prize
Winner: Mari Watkins, Roseville College;
Runner-Up: Nathan Spencer, SHORE; and
HTANSW Chaperone: Francisca Castro