HTANSW Premier's History Scholarship

The NSW Premier's Teacher Scholarships were first introduced in 1999, and were instituted to enhance and enrich the learning experiences of students in the classroom whilst presenting a unique opportunity for teachers to develop skills and knowledge in their chosen field of expertise.

The HTANSW sponsors two scholarships of $10,000 value, available for teachers of history in schools or TAFE NSW Institutes who are current individual members of HTANSW only. The scholarship supports visits to universities, schools, libraries and historical sites and research into exemplary practice relevant to the teaching of History in the NSW curriculum.

These scholarships are for study in either Australia or overseas.


2024 Winners

HTANSW would like to congratulate and announce Simone Etcell of Campbelltown Performing Arts High School and Peter Hartman of Cherrybrook Technology High School as the recipients of the 2024 Premier's History Teachers' Association History Scholarship.

Simone will be investigating ethical practices in museums in the United Kingdom, Egypt, and Australia. Peter will be exploring the historiography of the Spanish Conquest of the Aztec Empire and will be travelling to Mexico, USA, the United Kingdom, and Spain.

The awards were presented by Premier Chris Minns and Deputy Premier Prue Car at the Sydney Mint on 17th October. HTANSW is proud to sponsor two $10000 scholarships each year. Congratulations again to Simone and Peter for this achievement - we look forward to witnessing all of the wonderful things they will see, do, and learn.


Winners of the 2024 HTA Premier's History Scholarships
Congratulations to Peter Hartman, Cherrybrook High School (centre left) and Simone Etcell, Campbelltown Performing Arts High School (centre right) 


For more information and application details:

Applications closed 28 July 2023


Contact the Scholarship project team at:
[email protected] or by calling (02) 7814 3820