Extension History Essay Prize

2022 Extension Essay Prize Winners

L-R: Gianna Ariston (RU), Luke McNamara (1st Eq), Mica Krzyzanowski (1st Eq), Alexandra Addis (RU)

The Extension History Essay Prize is open to essays that:

  • Satisfy the requirements of the NSW HSC Extension Project
  • Are the product of genuine research
  • Represent 'interesting and well written history'
  • Do not present a significant overlap with other senior history syllabus content

NOTE: Special Category essays will be selected by the judging panel from essays entered in the HTANSW Extension Essay Prize, and must meet the same criteria

Entry Criteria

  • Entries are restricted to two per school (i.e. each school can select/enter its 2 best essays only)
  • All entries must be nominated by the school's History Head Teacher or Coordinator. That is, entries must be submitted by the nominating teacher. Entries submitted by students will not be accepted
  • Entries must be received by the closing date 
  • Entries must be an exact copy of the essay the student submitted to their school to meet the requirements for the HSC Extension History Project. That is, entries must meet the below Essay Requirements
  • NOTE: Special Category essays will be chosen by the competition judges from the essays sumbitted to the general competition.

Essay Requirements

Essays should satisfy the requirements of the NSW HSC Extension Project:

  • Consist of no more than 2,500 words
  • Include a bibiliography (but not an evaluation of any of the sources used)

Please also ensure:

  • Your essay has page numbers
  • Apart from the essay's PDF file name, do not write student's name, school or teacher on any page of the body of the document.


Submissions will be via electronic upload through the below link. 

Please follow the following FORMAT GUIDE for your entries:

  • Save your entry essay in PDF file format (max. size 3MB)
  • Use the following naming convention to save your PDF file with student's details: SURNAMEfirstname_School
  • Complete a separate entry form for each student
  • NOTE: Maximum of 2 entries per school only
  • CLOSING DATE - Friday 15th September (COB)



HTANSW Extension Essay Prize

Sponsored by the University of Sydney History Department

  • 1st Place: $400 
  • Runners Up Awards (3 awards): $200

Special Category "Generation to Generation Prize"

The Sydney Jewish Museum is offering a prize for essays on the topic of Holocaust history and/or the related area of genocide studies. Candidates are encouraged to undertake original research utilising the Sydney Jewish Museum's archive (particularly the SJM's growing oral history archive) and library/resource collection.

  • 1st Place: $300 
  • 2nd Place: $150

NEW! Special Category - Australian History Prize

The History Council of NSW offers prizes for essays which focus on Australian history, and which may include original research.

  • 1st Place: $300
  • 2nd Place: $150

NEW! Special Category - Ancient Past Prize

The Chau Chak Wing Museum, University of Sydney, offers prizes for essays which encompass the ancient past and/or archaeology.

  • 1st Prize: $300
  • 2nd Prize: $150


2022 Results

During 2023 a selection of prize-winning essays will be published in the Term 1, 2, 3 and 4 issues of our Teaching History journal.

2022 Australian Prize Category Winners

L-R: Dr Stephen Gapps (History Council NSW), Mr Rowan Lawrence (on behalf of Roy Cai), Sophie Viol, Catherine Shirley (History Council NSW)

2022 Ancient Prize Category Winners

L-R : Ruby Spies, Carl Caesar Boehme and Dr Craig Barker (Chau Chak Wing Museum)

2022 Generation Prize Category Winners

L-R: Tessa Darby and Elsa Wright

2022 Extension Main Prize Winners

BACK: Dr Georgia Macbeth (St Aloysius), Luke McNamara, Mica Krzyzanowski, Catherine Bavell (Sydney GHS)
FRONT: Gianna Ariston, Alexandra Addis


2022 HTANSW Extension Essay Prize Winners

1st Place (equal)

Mica Krzyzanowski

Sydney Girls High School

1st Place (equal)

Luke McNamara

St Aloysius College

Runner Up (equal)

Alexandra Addis

Hunter Valley Grammar School

Runner Up (equal)

Gianna Ariston

Pymble Ladies College


Generation to Generation Prize – Sydney Jewish Museum

1st Place

Elsa Wright

Sydney Secondary College - Blackwattle

2nd Place

Tessa Darby

Grafton High School

Australian History Prize - History Council of NSW

1st Place

Sophie Viol

Roseville College

2nd Place

Roy Cai

Barker College

Ancient Past Prize - Chau Chak Wing Museum

1st Place

Carl Caesar Boehme

Barker College

2nd Place

Ruby Spies

St Vincent's College


2022 Certificates of Excellence

Certificates of Excellence were awarded to the following students (in alphabetical order).

Nina Breckenridge

Pymble Ladies College

Andrew De Montfort

NBSC Manly Selective Campus

Max de Vries

NBSC Manly Selective Campus

Jack Glass

Sydney Grammar School

Rosa Gordos

Reddam House

Annabelle Harrington

Caringbah High School

Sahara Hunt

Sydney Secondary College - Blackwattle

Luke Nenadic

St Marys Senior High School

Tom Rowntree

The King's School

Bailey Seitz

The Hills Grammar